No, the Clipchamp team cannot view, access, or use video, audio or image files you work with in our products unless you choose to send them to us.

_____________

Why we can't access your videos

We never have access to your video files because our technology never uploads them to a server for processing. They get processed locally on your machine and never leave your computer (unless you choose to share them).

The processing of your videos is all happening inside your browser. It basically works like a desktop application, except the browser is the platform Clipchamp runs on.

That's the key difference between Clipchamp and most other online converters, editors and webcam recorders. Most would upload your video to their servers, process it and then you'd have to download it again and hope that they delete it off their servers. With Clipchamp, there is no server-side processing, and no uploading or downloading of the video.

This means you have full control over what happens with your files.

_____________

But if videos don't get uploaded, why do I see my old projects when I log in to Create, and previously converted videos when I log in to Utilities?

The Create editor saves project data (e.g. edit information, titles, file names) in your online account, but not the associated video, audio and image files that you added. Instead it accesses these files locally on your computer when you log in and open the project (or if it can't find these files, it will ask you to relink them). 

In Utilities you might see videos you recently compressed, converted or recorded in the 'my recent videos' section of the dashboard. These videos are those our tool is able to find in the browser cache and make available for you to recover. They have not been uploaded to an online account, and we can't access them. 

_____________

So why do I need to click Save if it's all on my computer anyway?

When you click the "Save" button after exporting, converting, or recording a video, what happens is that the video gets saved to a folder on your computer (of your choice) from the temporary browser folder it was stored in behind the scenes. Once you save the video or refresh the app, those temp files get deleted automatically after some time.

Did this answer your question?