No, Clipchamp cannot view or access video files you work with in our products.

_____________

Why we can't see your videos

We never have access to your video files as we actually never upload them to a server for processing. They get processed on your computer and never leave your computer (unless you upload them to Google Drive or any other online provider).

The processing of your videos is all happening inside the browser but it basically works like a desktop application with the browser as the platform Clipchamp runs on.

And that's the key difference between Clipchamp and an actual online converter or webcam recorder, an online converter would upload the video to their servers, process it and then you'd have to download it again and hope that they delete the original off their servers again.

In Clipchamp, there is no server-side processing or uploading/downloading of the video. All the files that the app needs to process your video get loaded into the browser behind the scenes and thus all the video recording and processing happens locally on your machine.

This means you have full control over what happens with your video files.

So why do I need to click Save?

When you click the "Save" button after exporting, converting, or recording a video, what happens is that the video gets saved to a folder on your computer (of your choice) from the temporary browser folder it was stored in behind the scenes. Once you save the video or refresh the app, those temp files get deleted.

The browser might still display a message that mentions "downloading" in it, though that's due to it being a standard text that we can't modify unfortunately to say something that would be more accurate in our case, for instance "saving video".

You might also still see the videos you processed in Clipchamp Utilities "Recover" section in your user dashboard. The videos we are able to show here are the ones that are still available temporarily in your browser cache and they are not on our servers. After some time, the browser automatically deletes them from temporary local storage.

Did this answer your question?