In Clipchamp, you can remove a video, image, audio clip, or part of a clip, from your timeline (so it doesn't appear in your finished video) or remove it from your video entirely by deleting it from Your media library. See below for instructions.
How to remove a clip from your timeline
To delete any clip (including videos, audio clips, images, titles, or backgrounds) from the timeline at the base of your video:
Step 1. Click on the clip in the timeline, so it is highlighted green
Step 2. Click the delete in the top left of the timeline
Alternatively, press the delete key on your keyboard. The clip will now be removed from your timeline.
Suppose you delete a video, image, or audio clip (or parts of one) from your timeline. In that case, the original clip will still be available in your media library, so you can easily drag and drop it into the timeline again later if you want to.
How to remove part of a clip
If you only want to delete a section of the clip from your timeline, either:
Use the trim tool
Use the split tool and then delete the unwanted part by selecting it and clicking delete.
Deleting from your media library
To remove a file from your project entirely, you need to delete it from the media library.
Step 1. Find the file in the media area in the top left of your project
To delete a video, image, or audio file from the Your media tab, click on the trash can symbol on the file you want to delete.
Before your media file deletes, a warning will appear on your screen. Either click Yes, delete, or Cancel if you have made a mistake or changed your mind.
The Yes, delete button will remove the asset from the editor entirely.
If you accidentally delete a clip, you can import the original file into your library again by the usual add media method. However, it will not repopulate any previous instances where the clip was used on the timeline.
Ready to get started?
Head straight to Clipchamp to try it out for yourself: