While you are editing, Create saves your progress every 5 seconds to an online backup (not your video files – those stay on your computer – only editing data gets backed up online). However, it requires a working network (internet) connection to do this. If there is none, it will backup to your local cache until a connection is available again, but this data can be lost if the cache is overwritten or emptied.
If you see an old version of your project when you reopen it, it might be because a loss of network connection prevented Create from saving your changes. If this is the case, it will not be possible to retrieve your changes.
To avoid this problem in future, we recommend you check your network connection is active before closing a Create project you are working on.
If you are not experiencing any network connection problems, but are still losing progress, there may be a glitch in the backup system – please get in touch with us (using the chat icon in the bottom right) and we can investigate.