What is the Cloud Sync feature?

Normally the Create editor accesses the media files you add to your projects directly from your computer and processes them locally (they never get uploaded anywhere).

Our Cloud Sync feature offers you the option to automatically back up these files to our secure online storage.

Why is Cloud Sync useful?

Enabling Cloud Sync has several benefits, which include:

  • No danger of losing your files / projects. If the original media files on your computer are lost, edited or deleted, you'll still be able to access and work with your project if you have Cloud Sync enabled.
  • No relinking. When working with un-synced Clipchamp projects, you will sometimes be asked to relink your original media files from your computer, but with synced projects you never have to worry about relinking.
  • Access your projects from any computer. Instead of having to manually move your media files and relink them on a new computer, you'll be able to log in to your Clipchamp account on any computer and keep editing straight away.

Do I have to use Cloud Sync to save my project?

No. If you choose not to use Cloud Sync, your edits will still be saved and you will still be able to work on your project when you return to it later.

However, you must keep all your original media files (the videos, images and audio files you added to your project) on your computer in case you have to relink them. If you delete them or change them, and your files aren't synced to the cloud, Clipchamp has no way of recovering them.

You also won't be able to work on your project on other computers, unless you bring your media files with you (e.g. on a USB stick) and relink them manually.

______________

How to sync a project to the cloud

1. Upgrade to a plan that includes the feature

All of Clipchamp Create's paid plans come with cloud syncing, so if you aren't already on one of these plans, click the Upgrade button in the top right of the editor.

2. Click on the sync icon in the project

Next to the project title in the top left, you'll see a sync icon with a line through it. This means your files in this project currently aren't synced. Click on this icon:

3. Then click the Enable button

In the dropdown that appears, click Enable:

4. Wait for your files to sync

Your files will start syncing. You can continue editing while this happens, but don't close the project or the tab. To see the upload progress, click on the sync icon:

When your files have finished syncing you'll see a cloud icon with a tick. This means you can leave the project, or close the editor or browser, knowing your files are safely backed up in the cloud.

NOTE: Your files will only be stored for the project in which you've enabled syncing. To store files in other projects, you will need to open those projects and enable syncing following the same process as above.

____________

How to disable Cloud Sync

To disable cloud syncing in a project, simply click the cloud icon and switch the toggle to the left:

You'll be asked to confirm you want to stop cloud syncing. Click Remove file backup:

You'll see a notification that you have a certain number of days to reverse this decision – in that time your files will still be stored and you can recover them. After that, the online backups will be deleted and you will need to rely on relinking your local original media files to keep using your projects.

_____________

Related articles:

Did this answer your question?