A new-look menu
Now, when you log in to Clipchamp and arrive in Home, you’ll notice an updated menu.
Beneath your account name, you’ll see a PERSONAL tag (this ensures you won’t confuse your personal space with your team).
Under this, you’ll see Create a team – click this to get started.
Create a team
Once you’ve clicked Create a team, a screen will appear, prompting you to Give your team a name. Enter a team name, then click Create.
Invite team members
Once your team has been created, you’ll arrive on the Team details page. This is where you can find all of your team’s members.
To invite Invite members, all you need to do is click on Copy invite link to get a link that you can send to anyone and they can join the team. When your link is successfully copied, a green tick will appear assisted with Link copied.
There is no limit on the number of members you can add to your team.
Or if you want a more secure way to invite, enter the email addresses of guests you would like to invite to your team.
Your team member will receive an invitation via email.
They can join your team using their existing Clipchamp account, or they can set up a Clipchamp account.
After you’ve sent an invitation to your teammate, they’ll appear in the Members section on your Team details page.
Their status will say Invited. This status will disappear once they have accepted the invitation.
Remove team members
If you ever want to remove a member of your team, just hover over the member's email on this page and select the Remove option.
How to create a team video
After you’ve finished inviting team members, click on the Team videos tab in the sidebar to start working on video projects.
You’ll arrive on the Team Videos page. On this page there are two work areas:
All team videos: an area where you can view the videos created by all team members (including your own).
My team videos: an area where you can view just the videos you have created.
You’ll see a prompt to Create your first video. You can click on this to create the first video for your team.
To create videos in the future, all you need to do is click the Create a video button in the top right corner of the page.
When you create a video, it will automatically be saved to your Team videos page.
When team members click on a thumbnail in the video list inside a Team Videos, they will be redirected to the editor and be able to view the video in the timeline but only in “view only” mode.
Team members can’t edit anything on the video but they’ll be able to still copy the video if they want to progress further by clicking on the drop-down arrow, then Make a copy.
With any video you create, you have the option to Edit, Make a copy, or Delete.
How to collaborate on a video with your team
So, how can you collaborate on a video with your team? It’s simple.
When a team member accepts their invite and logs into Clipchamp, they can navigate to the Team videos page. Here, they’ll see videos created by team members in the All team videos area.
If a team member wants to work on a video that someone else has created, they’ll need to click on options, then click Make a copy. Making a copy allows a team member to edit a video without losing the original. This way, changes can be suggested and compared before a decision is made.
Your team can continue to make copies of videos until you’ve agreed on a final version.
Tip: It’s helpful to title videos clearly. See in the above example, the video is named Property listing | Original and in the below example, the copy is named Property listing | Paige’s edit. This makes a clear distinction between the two videos and clarifies who the copy belongs to.
Your team member can see every video in the All team videos area. They will only see the videos they have edited in the My team videos area.
Cloud Sync files with your team
We’ve enabled automatic Cloud Syncing for all Teams videos. This means that no matter which team member is working on a video, they’ll have access to all of its media files, even if they aren’t saved on their device.
Cloud Sync is a feature that’s normally only available to users with a paid subscription. However, to improve your Clipchamp Teams experience, we’ve made it available to all users working in Clipchamp Teams.
Note: If you’re on a free Clipchamp plan, you’ll only be able to use Cloud Sync on Teams videos. Cloud Sync won’t work on videos created in your personal account.
We want your Cloud Syncing to be successful, so if you try to exit your video before it’s complete, you’ll receive a message asking you to finish syncing media before exiting.
Note: If you choose to exit your video before Cloud Syncing is complete, when a team member copies your video to make their edits, they may notice missing files. These files can be relinked if they have the files saved on their device.
Sharing your Teams video
When you export your finished Teams video, you’ll notice you have the option to enable sharing. Click the toggle, and you’ll be provided with a unique URL you can share with anyone you’d like to view your video. You’ll also be provided with links to embed your video in email or messages.
Note: Once you’ve enabled sharing, you’ll see that a new option – View video – is available for that video back on the Team Videos page. Your team members can click on this and they’ll be taken to the unique URL you created, where they can preview the video before making a copy.
Is there a limit to how many teams you can make or how many people you can invite?
No. The more, the merrier!
Can I accept an invitation under a different email / account?
What type of permissions controls are there in Clipchamp teams?
By default, users added to teams will be able to manage team members and projects. We’ll be introducing more control over permissions soon. If you’d like to be notified about features, please vote in our Feedback portal (we’d love to know a bit more about your needs too).
Is there a difference in privilege between the team founder and invitee?
No. An invitee could remove the founder for example. We'll be introducing basic permissions control on the free plan soon and paid plans will have higher levels of permissions control.
If I create Premium content but share it with a user on a free plan, what happens when they try to export the video?
The ability to get all team members on the same billing plan is coming soon. Until then, users on lower plans will see upgrade messages when trying to export projects with Premium assets.
How do I edit a team project and hand it back to the owner when complete?
Three projects would have to be created for this to happen. The original project, the copy to edit, then the original user would have to copy the edited version to resume it. We’re working to improve this workflow.
Is it possible to work on the same project at the same time?
Not at this time. We’re working on improving our collaborative workflows in video projects.
Does Clipchamp Teams support SSO login?
Not right now, but we are working on this. If you’d like to be notified about features, please vote in our Feedback portal (we’d love to know a bit more about your needs too).
Do you have audit reports for team activities?
We have no plans to add this feature as of yet but are interested to learn more about specific needs in this area. Please drop some notes in our Feedback portal and a member of our product team may get in touch to learn more.
What type of support do you have for standards like SOC2 and Coppa?
We are working on SOC2 and Coppa compliance as we know this is important for student-aged teams.