Moving videos between spaces is a new action available to Clipchamp Teams users.

It’s a simple and easy way to make sure your videos are saved in the correct spaces, and made accessible to your team members.

How to move a video from your personal space to a team space

To move a video from your personal space to a team space, you’ll need to locate the video you want to move in your personal space.

Once you’ve located it, hover your mouse over the video and click the more icon (represented by three dots) that appears on your video.

You’ll then need to select move from the dropdown of actions that appears.

You’ll then be able to select what space you want to move your video to, and click move here to complete the action.

Note: you’ll need to make sure you’ve enabled cloud backup before you can move a video (how do I do that?). You’ll receive a message notifying you if you (or the creator of the video, if you’re a team administrator) don’t have it enabled.

You’ll then be redirected to your team space where the video you moved from your personal space should appear.

You can also look for a green confirmation message.

Now, your video will remain in your team space where you can access it to make edits, and export.

How to move a video from one team space to another

If you’re a part of multiple teams in Clipchamp, you can move videos between different team spaces.

Note: you can only move team videos if you’re allocated one of the following team roles (what’s that?):

  • Team admin

  • Editor (you’ll need to be the original creator of the video or make a copy to move it).

Once you’ve located the video you want to move, hover your mouse over it and click the more icon (represented by three dots) that appears on your video.

You’ll then be able to select what team space you want to move your video to, and click move here to complete the action.

You’ll then be redirected to the team space you’ve moved your video to. You should see the video, and a green confirmation message on your screen.

Note: you’ll need to be either team administrator or an editor in the team you’ve moved your video to in order to edit your video in this team space.

If needed, you can always move a video back to its original team space, or to a different team.

Can I move a video from a team space to my personal space?

No. You’ll notice when choosing a space to move a team video to, that your personal space is not selectable and features a lock icon.

You’ll also see a message explaining that team videos can’t be moved to personal spaces.

Did this answer your question?